16
Feb
10

Night Shift

As I pause in the doorway of their bedroom,
I can see the moonlight filtering through the blinds,
Shining in the Vick’s Vapo-Rub on Mom’s top lip.
I don’t want to disturb the cat or wake Mom up;
She got so little sleep last night I’m surprised
She made it all the way into her nightgown and bed
Before she was down for the count. The Vick’s
Seems to have helped a little; She’s still congested but
At least she’s snoring now and if she’s snoring then
She’s sleeping and breathing and that’s all I
Wanted to know. I just wanted to check on her.
And that’s why I’m standing here in the doorway,
In the moonlit darkness, where she used to stand
All those nights years ago to check on me.

1 Response to “Night Shift”


  1. February 18, 2010 at 04:55

    Beautiful. Wonderful. I read your every post, because they’re all good-to-super, and many of them, like this one, are sublime.


Leave a Reply

