10
Feb
10

I’m Sorry

I didn’t intend to hurt you feelings like that.
I meant to say those things in a very different way.
I had imagined that before I spoke my piece,
I’d have time to pretty it up;
Choose just the right softening words,
Something appropriately multisyllabic.
Instead you forced the moment,
Startled the extremely rough first draft out of me
And I’m sorry but I don’t believe I should be judged
On something submitted without benefit of time for revision or polishing.
So let’s pretend one of us has just pressed ctrl + z
And try this again later.

2 Responses to “I’m Sorry”


  1. February 10, 2010 at 20:26

    How often I have wanted to hit ctrl+z or any key to remove what I just said before I had time to think…too bad there’s no rewind button on our actions….thanks for making me think about another issue.

  2. February 10, 2010 at 20:38

    Oh! This is exactly what I’ve thought at times! I wish I could take it back…but if you hadn’t pushed me, squeezed it out of me before I was ready, this would NEVER have happened!


Leave a Reply

