21
Jan
10

Promised Land Blues

I was born one Sunday morning with a Bible in my hand
I was born one Sunday morning with a Bible in my hand
I was born one Sunday morning with a Bible in my hand
And the preacher told my mama, “He’ll lead us to the Promised Land.”

Oh my daddy died one Friday with a shotgun in his hand
My daddy died one Friday with a shotgun in his hand
Yes my daddy died one Friday with a shotgun in his hand
And the preacher told my mama, “There dies a wasted man.”

When I moved North to the city, Ma was crying on the stairs
When I moved North to the city, Ma was crying on the stairs
When I moved North to the city, my ma was crying on the stairs
I said, “Mama, stop your weeping cuz there’s a better life up there.”

Since I been here in the city I’ve found sorrow, I’ve found pain
Since I been here in the city oh I cannot stop the pain
Since I been here in the city I’ve found sorrow, I’ve found pain
If I could trade my pride for dollars, I’d be in Mama’s arms again

Nearly down to one last dollar and there’s a question in my head
Nearly down to one last dollar and there’s a question in my head
I’m almost down to one last dollar and there’s a question in my head
Should I buy that silky shotgun or a moldy loaf of bread?

Mama, please forgive me for what I’m about to do
Mama, please forgive me for what I’m about to do
Mama, please forgive me for what I’m about to do
But I think I see my daddy and he’s come to lead me through.

Jesus, do you hear me? Answer if you can
Sweet Jesus, do you hear me? Answer if you can
Jesus! Do you hear me? Come on, answer if you can
How was I to lead my people when there ain’t no Promised Land?

0 Responses to “Promised Land Blues”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

