18
Jan
10

Questions And Confidence

“Can you believe there is soup in the kitchen sink?”
My mother poked her head into my room to ask.
“That sounds entirely plausible,” I said, “so, yes.”
“And noodles. Noodles in the kitchen sink drain.”
“That sounds less credible,” I said, “but after all
You are my mother so I choose to believe that too.”
“The next time you are in the kitchen,” she said,
“You can clean all that crap out of the sink and
You can finish loading the dishwasher too.”
“It cheers me to receive that vote of confidence,” I said.
“In a world where our abilities are constantly questioned,
It’s heartening to know my mother believes in me.”
“Never mind all that,” she said, “Hurry yourself along.”
And- because I wanted to be able to savor the sense
Of accomplishment as long as possible- I did hurry along.

0 Responses to “Questions And Confidence”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

