15
Jan
10

Creamed Chipped Beef (A Rondeau)

Creamed chipped beef- I hate the smell.
There’s no way to prepare it well.
Boil it in a bag and serve on toast:
You’ll render it edible- at most-
But stinking like the fires of hell.

Give me raw oysters on the shell-
Disgusting as far as I can tell-
Or rustle up some ‘possum to roast.
One dish reviled from coast to coast?
Creamed chipped beef.

If my ears begin to swell,
If I start to do backflips and run pell mell,
If I claim to see Banquo’s ghost
Then you can tie me to a post
And feed me- How my papa would kvell! –
Creamed chipped beef.

0 Responses to “Creamed Chipped Beef (A Rondeau)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

