30
Dec
09

Early Discarded

Halfway to the bottom of the dumpster I lie- a bodyless teddy bear.
My head rent from my body by a display of excessive love and possessiveness-
Where was Solomon when my ownership was being disputed?
A poorly marked gift, a fight broke out, I felt a wrenching pain then there were tears all around.
Sure, attempts were made to repair me but while some hurt feelings can be easily mended little bears sometimes cannot.
Father provided distraction in the form of a jolly board game,
While Mother disposed of the disturbing evidence;
That would be me.
Santa promised a little girl would love me and so briefly I held the attention of two.
Who could have predicted I’d be spending Christmas night here among the torn wrappings, coffee grounds, and dozens of walnut shells?

1 Response to “Early Discarded”


  1. January 1, 2010 at 08:35

    Hee hee! Thank you for my teddy bear poem! I knew you could turn anything into a sad poem 🙂 I like it a lot. Gave me a very good visual of the poor teddy, and what had happened to put him at the bottom of a dumpster.


Leave a Reply

