18
Apr
09

Calls

Sitting in my car,
Beside, the river,
Sipping a cup of coffee.
The sun glinting on the water was so lovely.
(The coffee was just a bit too milky.)
The silence- save the calls of the gulls and the sailing students-
Was so exquisite
I wanted to share it with someone else who’d appreciate it.
But if I called or texted somebody,
There would be questions and calls for payback:
Shouldn’t you be looking for a job?
How do you have time to sit and look at the river?
If I stop what I’m doing and come, do you promise you’ll help me catch up?
So I thought
And sipped my coffee.
And, following some gentle quacking back to a family of ducks,
Decided there was no one I needed to call.

0 Responses to “Calls”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

