09
Mar
09

I’m Writing This To Say

I took your
J Crew sweater.
I let myself in with
The key I thought
I returned.

I guess you were
At Starbucks when I opened
The door

Sun shining on your favorite
Blue pen and the very gray sweater.
(Forgotten like the key?)

Forgive me.
Your sweater was
So warm and
So nearly invisible

Just the way
I wanted to feel this morning.

[For A.B. with much thanks.]

2 Responses to “I’m Writing This To Say”


  1. March 9, 2009 at 13:54

    Funny thing about this sweater…

    I stole it from Maury. In 1993, when I went to visit him at UM. In 1994, at Ari & Jen’s wedding in Boston, Julie tried (twice) to steal it from me. I’ve been rather protective since.

    Clearly the sweater has its own karmic destiny to fulfill. May your words wear it well. 😉

  2. March 14, 2011 at 09:42

    Like an old friend, it was nice to see this one again.


Leave a Reply

