02
Mar
09

Last

Every day I’m the last kid at school cuz everyone else got picked up.
The last thing at night you say “Sweet dreams” to me.
(If I’m not already asleep.)
I know you work to feed us and to pay the rent and buy shoes.
And you told me, all day while I’m playing, you have grown-up things to do.
But I’m waiting here now like a dropped laundered sock
That some scatter-brained goof left behind.
How can I believe I’m the first in your heart
When I’m clearly last thing on your mind?

1 Response to “Last”


  1. March 6, 2009 at 11:01

    Crushing last two lines, my goodness. I hope you’re feeling sunnier today.


Leave a Reply

