19
Feb
09

Killing Daddy

“Let’s get a bigger stick and kill my daddy.
He hadn’t been real nice to me the last few days.”
Southern Gothic? Sure.
Only I was on the playground
And the instigator of the plot was a dainty three-year-old girl.
I don’t know her daddy.
I hope she was pretending.
In any case, the stick she had wasn’t sharp or very big.
Still, when did patricide become the solution of choice for the problems of the not-yet-in-kindergarten set?
It’s not new; Oedipus did it.
Ditto Lyle and Erik M. but with no excuse.
I recently read a short story in which it was brought on by just too cheery a morning face.
But what would Mama do without the child support check?
Who’d give her a night out with the girls?
What happened to yelling “I hate you”
Or threatening to run away?
I’m sure that I’m old-fashioned,
I just think it should be harder
To find kids so excited to support and assist this little girl in killing her daddy.

0 Responses to “Killing Daddy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

