09
Feb
09

On Dressing In Red And Purple

Lying still, eyes closed, I feel the soreness in my shoulder.
My lower back is stiff. We’ll have a headache this morning.
Inside my mind and my heart, I don’t feel any older;
Yet last night my body aged twenty years without warning.

I was having fun at two, Twittersations going strong-
Filled with a sense of community and the joy of youth-
Now I’m so dog-tired I’d lie here in bed all day long
If I didn’t have to get out to pee and that’s the truth.

I don’t get how this works but we all know it can’t be fair
That the outside falls apart while the inside stays so young.
One day I’ll squint into the mirror, see some old woman there,
Waggle stiff fingers from my ears and, of course, stick out my ton

0 Responses to “On Dressing In Red And Purple”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

