07
Feb
09

A Few Thoughts About Cows

Cows are so mellow they follow you around like tame dogs
Each breed is so different their colors and temperaments vary
But whether it’s Jersey or Herford or Holstein or Gurnsey
No matter the outside the milk on the inside’s the same.

1 Response to “A Few Thoughts About Cows”


  1. February 7, 2009 at 20:04

    I don’t think I quite knew what to do with cows. Wanted to like them. I remember going with Grandpa loads when he went out to feed them, and holding the bottle in the mouth of a calf, then petting him till it was time for him to go. I remember petting them at the fair, and looking at them in their pens, admiring their curly hair and their horns. I got really excited as a young schoolgirl when one sniffed me. Still, I was kind of fearful of them. Would one suddenly decide to turn on me? Would I get charged or horned by one of them? Yet most of my memories of them were indeed, as you put it, mellow.


Leave a Reply

