12
Jan
09

Where I’m From

I’m from Till Death Do Us Part, My wife I think I’ll keep her, and
Sometimes people grow in different directions.
I’m from grape Popsicles and drinking out of the hose.
Kick the can, Adventure, and Sims 2.
My bologna has a first name and I Wanna Be Sedated.
I’m from schmutz, schmuck, schmaltz and schadenfreude.
Sesquipedelian ambitions and pedestrian results.
Cherry pie for breakfast and insulin at bedtime.
Spring rolls and spring training.
Knit one purl one half-double crochet.
Casablanca and That’s Amore.
Songs About Jane and Kurt Cobain.
I’m from Black Power, Gray Power, Fight the Powers That Be.
If you’re not part of the solution, you’re part of the problem.
J-O-Y is spelled “Jesus Others You” and “relief” is spelled R O L A I D S.
I’m from Captain Crunch, Captain America and Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy.
I’m from Isaac Mizrahi and Isaac Newton.
I’m sitting on the third-base side of home plate and I shall watch your future career with great interest.

4 Responses to “Where I’m From”


  1. 1 Frank Stendal
    January 12, 2009 at 08:07

    Star Trek, The Motion Picture
    Star Wars in theaters for 2 years running
    Alan Parsons
    Clive Barker used to write horror
    Thundercats Ho!!!!
    There was a war in the Middle East before GWB
    Candy bars used to cost a quarter
    King Kong killed my black and white tv
    MTV went on the air for the first time
    John Williams wrote the music we all associate with The Olympic Games

  2. 2 Ramona W
    January 12, 2009 at 11:07

    Whew! Good job, Frank.

  3. January 12, 2009 at 19:32

    Loved today’s Poem Ramona!

    Andrea šŸ™‚

  4. January 13, 2009 at 21:34

    I THOUGHT I knew you!
    I grew up just East of Eden, west of West Side Story.
    Didn’t we have a class together
    At Ridgemont (or was it Rydell) High?
    I’d come by but promised I would pick up Ferris Bueller
    And we’d wagon the Oregon Trail šŸ˜‰

    I’m from life moves pretty fast,
    But slow and steady wins,
    And anyway I could TOTALLY get
    From here to where you’re from
    Faster than you can SAY “Green Machine.”


Leave a Reply

