28
Dec
08

Stimulation: A Spenserian Sonnet

To create, the brain needs agitation-
Something to make the neurons jump around-
As long as there’s sufficient stimulation
The brain could not care less where it is found.

It could be a new idea, a tale handed down,
A barely-glimpsed scene, an overheard song,
The remembered scent of lilacs, an old flannel gown,
A rap on a bathroom door, “Why’re you in there so long?”

Once the stimulation’s received, it shouldn’t take long
For things to percolate and concepts take form.
If you can find a place safe from the tumultuous throng,
Somewhere clean and dry where the coffee stays warm.

Stimulated both inside and outside, my brain’s churning fast.
I’d best jot down this sonnet ‘fore the moment is past

3 Responses to “Stimulation: A Spenserian Sonnet”


  1. December 28, 2008 at 09:31

    Wow, that’s stunning, I like it. I think you did a great job. More, please šŸ˜‰

    A very happy New Year to you and your family, Robin

    Paula

  2. December 28, 2008 at 10:48

    Thanks so much for your kind words, Ramona, and for adding me to your blogroll. I admire you for exercising your writing muscle each day–it seems very strong. I like your poems and stories. I also like the name Ramona–it reminds me of Ramona the Pest, my favorite character from Beverly Cleary’s wonderful writing.

  3. December 28, 2008 at 12:39

    Okay…that is some serious brilliance going on right there!


Leave a Reply

