23
Dec
08

Discontent of Winter

O Muse why have you left me here?
The air is cold; the atmosphere rank.
My sole companions the husks of old poems-
Their breath rattles, their chains clanking
As they pace.
Life’s wintry gales have left them
Thirsty and dry like my skin
And I wonder if you’ll return
With salve and gruel.
One coal of inspiration-
I swear that’s all it would take
To thaw the creative juices
Make fresh my dessicated soul
Let me anticipate the warmth of far-off spring.

2 Responses to “Discontent of Winter”


  1. 1 noranoir
    December 23, 2008 at 09:42

    Oh Ramoona, these are my winter sentiments, exactly. I understand. Nicely done.

  2. December 23, 2008 at 20:41

    I just wanted to weigh in on how much I enjoy your work. I have a hard time making comments per say on poems. I don’t know why. I guess the best way to describe it is I ‘feel’ them. But I thank you for them.

    Oh…I got a great kick out of the cement geese satue and clothing piece. We have friends that have a thriving cement ornament business here in Ohio and it all started with the damn geese. My wife and her sisters spent their teen years making geese clothing and painting some of the statuettes.


Leave a Reply

