16
Dec
08

Star Stories

On warm, sunny days I run with my pig-
We race for a seat in our van.
Mom drives out to milepost six-zero,
Piggy and I yell, “Stop! Right here! Please, stop!”
She pulls into a field and parks the van.
We all climb up on top.
My pig and I love the stories Mom tells us about the bright stars:
The giraffe that danced with a turtle,
An orange horse that jumped over flowers.
On the way home, Mom tells us about the maple sugar hero.
My pig and I never get to hear the end.
Piggy and I struggle to keep our eyes open
But the Sandman always beats me.
Darn it!
Somehow he always wins.

This poem was created using words given to me by a group of kindergardeners.

0 Responses to “Star Stories”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

