10
Dec
08

What Are You Doing?

What are you doing?
I’m writing a poem.
What’s it about?
I don’t know yet. It’s not done.
If it’s too hard, maybe you should color a picture.

What are you doing?
I’m writing a poem.
Can you read it to me?
No.
And you’re the grown-up. Ha!

What are you doing?
I’m writing a poem.
Is it true?
Well, some of it.
And the rest of it is like lying?
Not exactly. Are there crayons somewhere?

What are you doing?
I’m writing a poem.
Is it about a cat?
No.
Is it about a blue car?
No.
Is it about a girl who has a really beautiful ballet dress that’s pink and she can’t wear it because her brother is wearing it and her parents won’t make him take it off even though he’s a boy and can’t ever be a fairy princess or Ariel? And he won’t give her back her Kim Possible sweatshirt either?
No, but it probably should have been.

What are you doing?
I’m writing a poem.
In your book?
Yes.
Why do you have that book?
To put my poems in.
Why do you want poems anyway?
A poem is a special way of saying something so people can understand it.
Why don’t you just talk? Use your words.
Like now?
Yeah. Are you done?
Oh, probably. Okay. Stick a fork in me. Let’s go play.

When I was in the classroom the kids were fascinated by my writing poems. They wanted me to read them aloud and eventually helped me write some as well.

0 Responses to “What Are You Doing?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

